Braids to Tight

Have you ever felt that your braids were to tight? Well mine are literally!

Yesterday, for three hours I sat beside Route 1 National, just outside of Arcahaie, having my hair braided with extensions. It is not a new thing for my to get the braids in, but the person doing it was new. Man, does she braid tight! My forehead is pulled to the point of pain! Was it worth it? Absolutely!

I spent three hours living part of the life of many Haitian woman in the provinces. I sat not 20 feet from an insanely busy road, surrounded by multiple women of several generations all doing each others hair. We talked, laughed, and ate. We all closed our eyes to the dust when a big truck would fly past, we would all look up when someone stopped at the little road side store, and we as though a chorus would say bonswa to people as they stopped by. We spoke of childbirth, people acting crazy and life in general. Oh and how we did laugh!

The fun continued when I returned to the job site and to my guys. My guys being what I collectively call the Haitian construction workers that I have the pleasure of working with. Right down to the last one of them stopped short when they saw my hair in braids. It was very amusing! We have had a trying week at work, my guys and I, I feel like I have earned all of their respect for not only being a caring and conscientious “boss”, but all so an extremely hard worker. It was nice to see them smiling and laughing. In fact at the end of the day my guys gave me a bouquet of flowers.

Leave a Reply

